17.9 C
Los Angeles
Friday, July 19, 2024

How Safe is Corn When You’re Gluten-Free?

If you are looking forward to commencing a gluten-free diet, you don’t want to avoid corn unnecessarily. At times it makes a perfect substitute for gluten grains. It is worth mentioning that most individuals with gluten sensitivity can safely enjoy corn as long as they avoid products made with gluten -containing ingredients at risk for cross-contamination.

Just in case you miss, corn doesn’t have gluten and is not one of the gluten grains. That explains why many gluten-free products such as pasta are made from corn. But for those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitive, then it would be better to know when to exercise caution with corn products.

You should make it the norm to carefully check the label and corn ingredients list on any product you intend to purchase. Unless clearly certified and labeled as such, you can’t assume a corn product is gluten-free.

Depending on your sensitivity level to gluten, you may have to contact the manufacturer to determine if corn has been processed on equipment or in a factory where gluten is present. Keep in mind cross-contamination of gluten tends to occur in both industrialized and non-industrialized products.

For those who are into shopping for products or dishes made with corn, never should you assume that they are free from gluten. Cornmeal should be safe, but again, it is always a perfect idea to ask the company if the product could have been cross-contaminated in processing.

Things are not any different for other commercial products made with cornmeal or other corn-based ingredients. Unless it is specifically labeled as gluten-free, you will have to confirm the product’s gluten-free status with the manufacturer. Only then can you be sure about its authenticity.

Remember, creamed corn is not necessarily gluten-free. Even though your homemade creamed corn is probably made with real cream, canned versions get their ‘cream’ from food starch, The canned recipes also tend to use other ingredients like salt and sugar, which may contain gluten. In short, be sure to read the corn ingredients list before purchasing any product for consumption.

Trending Now:

Recommended for "The Publishers Weekly"

Most Popular Articles